My Tsukuba Life

Foods, Sightseeing, and Experience in Tsukuba, JAPAN

I’m happy with spring but I’m unhappy with pollen allergy

Spring has come to Japan. It gradually become warmer and warmer. I can see flowers of Japanese apricot already. Cherry blossom would open soon. I’m going to go to cherry blossom viewing that is Hanami in Japanese. Spring is happy season.

Spring brings a visitor who are never invited, that is pollen allergy. I have had it  since I was a university student. Main symptom is running nose, stuffed nose, itchy eyes, and breathing with difficulty, forcing me to use a lot of tissues in the morning as a result a trash box is quickly filled with tissues wasted. I believe that I have sneezing at least ten times in the morning.

Medicines for the allergy really help me. I use fexofenadine and pranlukast. Their brand names are Alegra and Onon in Japan. I used to have olopatadine, its brand name is Allelock, instead of Alegra but I changed it because it made me feel too lazy. Alegra and Allelock are both antihistamine agents. Histamine blocker may be familiar to us than antihistamine agent. Their major side effects are sleepiness and dry mouth. The sleepiness hinders me from working well and disturbs my concentration.  In that case, coffee is my faithful friend. On the other hand, pranlukast is a leukotriene receptor antagonist. Its efficacy is weaker for me than histamine blockers but it does not have sleepiness and dry mouth in my case. I saw a physician periodically and got the medicines.

Histamine blockers. Left one is fexofenadine and right one is pranlukast.

Histamine blockers. Left one is fexofenadine and right one is pranlukast.

Once I have the medicines, my condition gets better as if I do not have the allergy. Therefore, I can not leave the medicines as same as I can not do my iPhone. What kinds of medicines do you use for your allergy?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 2015-03-21 by in Medicine.

Navigation

