My Tsukuba Life

Foods, Sightseeing, and Experience in Tsukuba, JAPAN

Pollen Allergy is Common in Japan

Pollen allergy is common in Japan however hay fever might be familiar to you but it is not much to the point for me because I do not see the hay around here and do not get any fever from the allergy. Therefore, pollen allergy is the best name for me. There are many people suffering the allergy besides me. We have to wear face masks all the time except for the time they sleep. I do not like to put on the face mask because it quickly fogs up my glasses, that makes me feel awkward.

I usually buy cheaper mask although many kinds of masks are available in grocery stores and pharmacies.

Disposable face mask bought in Japanese pharmacy. Only one time use is recommended .

Disposable face mask bought in Japanese pharmacy. Only one time use is recommended.

Disposable face mask bought in Japanese pharmacy. Only one time use is recommended.

Disposable face mask bought in Japanese pharmacy. Only one time use is recommended.

The pollen usually come from Cryptomeria japonica (known as Sugi) in Japanese and Japanese cypress (known as Hinoki). In my case, pollen of Sugi worsens my condition more than that of Hinoki. The pollen of Sugi usually come earlier than Hinoki.

The pollen is not a sole invader. Aeolian dust also comes to Japan. Aeolian dust is called as Asian dust (known as Kousa) and is yellow sand. I can see something yellow on the front window of my car in this season however I can not distinguish the dust from pollen because both look slightly yellow. Although I do not know details, combination of pollen and Asian dust strongly worsens my condition. Can you see Asian dust in your place?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 2015-03-21 by in Culture.
