My Tsukuba Life

Foods, Sightseeing, and Experience in Tsukuba, JAPAN

Have You Imagined Cherry Blossom Viewing like This!

Cherries have already bloomed. I saw the blossoms on the way to our office and in the site of our company. I go to cherry blossom viewing every year but I had not gone yet. I decided to go to cherry blossom viewing with my family because the blossoms seemed to fall down in this weekend due to the bad weather according to a weather forecast. Unfortunately, it was cloudy and colder.

We went to Fukuoka Zeki Sakura Koen by our car, that located in Tsukuba Mirai city. Zeki and Koen means dam and park in Japanese, respectively. It took 20 to 30 minutes from our house by car. The park had a good reputation about cherry blossoms. Actually, many people visited the park before we arrived at it. As a result, I was not able to park my car because the parking lots were filled with cars of visitors. A guard navigated me to one of temporary parking lots, that was a little away from the park. I crossed a big river, Kokai river, by a bridge on the way to the park. The bridge was on a dam and released water to decrease the water level because it might get ready for next rain. I saw some people fished along the river.

View from the bridge over Kokai river. Many cherry blossoms was seen.

View from the bridge over Kokai river. Many cherry blossoms was seen.

Cherry blossoms in Sakura Koen

Cherry blossoms in Sakura Koen

I arrived at rows of cherry trees after I crossed the river. Wonderful blossoms welcomed us. I enjoyed walking and looking at the blossoms. The blossoms fell fluttering in the wind. Many people walked as same as we did and took pictures. I was able to see stalls along a road. They sold Okonomiyaki, Takoyaki, Kakigoori, Niika, and so on. I simply explained Okonomiyaki, Takoyaki, Kakigoori, Niika, as follows.

Okonomiyaki
Japanese-style pancake including vegetables and other ingredients such as meats, shrimps, and squid

Takoyaki
A ball-shaped pancake containing small pieces of octopus

Kakigoori
Shaved ice covered with sweet syrup

Japanese stalls along the road

Japanese stalls along the road

Kakigoori looks unpopular due to the cold weather. People just went past the stall and the shop keeper already knew the reason so they did not even call visitors. Okonomiyami, Kakigoori, and Takoyaki are familiar foods because they are often sold by stalls in events and festivals. Therefore, they are staple foods available in stalls. However, this was my first time to see Niika. It looked red and its size was like handkerchief. I believed that it was not sold in other places than Tsukuba. I examined Niika in the internet after I came back home and found that Niika was one of local foods of Ibaraki prefecture. I understood why I had not seen it in different prefectures.

Cherry blossoms fell fluttering in the wind.

Cherry blossoms fell fluttering in the wind.

Each cherry tree looked maintained well and had a label that showed an unique number. Some people would take care of them to show their beautiful blossoms. They would be employed by Tsukuba Mirai city. I was very happy to see such beautiful blossoms with my family. Have you imagined cherry blossom viewing like this?

Cherry blossoms in Sakura Koen

Cherry blossoms in Sakura Koen

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 2015-04-05 by in Culture.
