My Tsukuba Life

Foods, Sightseeing, and Experience in Tsukuba, JAPAN

Japanese Mandarin Orange, Setoka, Is Amazing Sweet!

I was given a gift from the resident downstairs. It was Japanese mandarin oranges (Mikan in Japanese) and the bland name is Setoka.I was surprised at the extremely thin skin that was too thin to peel easily. It tasted very sweet and fresh. I felt it was softer than orange. Almost all parts can be eaten because of the thin skin therefore only one Setoka made me feel full. It was amazing! It looks similar to ordinary Mikan so I could not have noticed it if nobody told me it was Setoka, not Mikan.

I was given such gifts from neighbors because my wife also gave some vegetables when our parents sent their products to us. Our parents cultivate some vegetables such as potato, onion, spinach, and so on. The vegetables really pleased neighbors and got good evaluation from them. Fresh vegetables tasted good and kept the taste longer than those in grocery stores. Our parents absolutely refrain from using agricultural chemicals on their products therefore we can give the vegetables to our sons without the anxiety.

Setoka is created by breed improvement in Nishiuwa, Ehime prefecture. Ehime is located in Shikoku island and is very famous producing area of Mikan. Farmers expect that Setoka becomes promising products in Nishiuwa. Although I rarely see Setoka in familiar grocery stores, I want to taste it again if I get the chance.

Setoka that is sort of Japanese mandain oranges and is cultivated in Nishiuwa, Ehime prefecture

Setoka that is sort of Japanese mandarin oranges and is cultivated in Nishiuwa, Ehime prefecture

Inside of Setoka, that looks also similar to ordinary Mikan but the membranes are extremely thin

Inside of Setoka, that looks also similar to ordinary Mikan but the membranes are extremely thin

3 comments on “Japanese Mandarin Orange, Setoka, Is Amazing Sweet!

  1. Ani
    2015-06-19

    It’s my first time that I hear for setoka and mikan! I hope to have a chance to taste them!Thank you for interesting information:-)

    Like

  2. Ani
    2015-06-19

    My father in law has a house near to Sofia. He has a big garden and plants a lot of fruit and vegetables. Everything is bio. I hope one day you’ll come and taste tomatoes, carrots, pepper – green,red, yellow….. I assure you have never try such a taste. You are all welcome!

    Like

  3. fumi7tsuku
    2015-06-21

    Thank you, Ani! The garden sounds really attractive. The fruits and vegetables must be delicious! My father also cultivates vegetables and a grapefruit with organic fertilizer although he is not a farmer. His products do not always look nice but they are tasty. I hope to taste the products of your father someday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 2015-04-26 by in Food.
